EUCIP, the European Certification for Informatics Professionals, is an entry-level qualification certification and competence development scheme aimed at IT practitioners and undergraduates.

Developed by CEPIS, the Council of European Professional Informatics Professionals, and administered in Ireland by ICS Skills. EUCIP is for:

  • Individuals seeking to break into the IT industry: EUCIP, as an entry-level professional certification, opens the doors to a sustainable and rewarding career in IT.
  • Professionals already in the domain: EUCIP provides exposure to the many facets of the profession while culminating in an internationally recognised certification.

EUCIP is a FETAC level 6 programme. And the fact that EUCIP is standardised across Europe gives holders an attractive and versatile certification, and enables them to apply for ICT jobs all across Europe.

EUCIP is accepted by DCU for admission onto their Post-Graduate Diploma in IT.

The overall goals of the EUCIP programme are to:

  • Offer certification of IT competence at an intermediate educational level.
  • Ensure a common standard which is accepted by industry, government and public organisations.
  • Provide added value to IT qualifications by the pan-European dimension of the certification.
  • Allow holders to apply for IT jobs all across Europe.
  • Allow employers to recruit across Europe.

Among the many benefits of achieving the EUCIP qualification are the following:

  • EUCIP is internationally recognised, a true pan-European qualification.
  • EUCIP is flexible in delivery and examination terms.
  • EUCIP provides a non-traditional pathway for such practitioners, providing a bridge to full professional recognition.
  • EUCIP provides an effective framework for those in other specialised areas to achieve IT professionalism.
  • EUCIP provides an effective framework for those self-educated within the IT industry to gain qualification.

The Core level Syllabus is divided into three knowledge areas: Plan, Build and Operate.

Knowledge Area 1 – Plan

This covers the use and management of Information Systems, and is subdivided into the following areas:

  • Organisations and their use of IT
  • Management of ICT
  • Measuring the Value of ICT
  • The Global Networked Economy.

Knowledge Area 2 – Build

This deals with the acquisition, development and implementation of Information Systems, and is subdivided into the following:

  • Systems Development Process and Methods
  • Programming
  • Data Management and Databases
  • User Interface and Web Design.

Knowledge Area 3 – Operate

This third area concerns installation, supervision and maintenance of ICT systems.

  • Computing Components and Architecture.
  • Operating Systems.
  • Communications and Networks.
  • Network Services.
  • Wireless and Ubiquitous Computing.
  • Network Management.
  • Service Delivery and Support.

EUCIP provides a learner-friendly, non-traditional pathway with flexible course delivery. It encompasses an estimated 300-400 study hours, dependent on the prior experience and knowledge of the individual learner.

  • Offered in several accredited third-level institutions nationwide.
  • Training is both lecture and lab-based.
  • Exercises and practical tasks simulate real-world experiences.
  • Part-time, with flexible delivery options.
  • EUCIP Online programme available.

Certification in EUCIP is performed using the ICS Skills Automated Testing System (ATS). The ATS combines the best of all worlds: authentic candidate experience, cost-effective testing, streamlined processes, consistent scoring, and simplified, paper-free candidate management.

  • Web-based: All tests are performed online over the web, so there is no software for test administrators to install or maintain.
  • Zero paperwork: Because both candidate testing and candidate administration are entirely online, there are no paper records to store, and candidates receive immediate feedback on their results.
  • Secure storage: The ICS Skills ATS gathers and keeps safe all results and candidate, class and module reports. This central storage of data and minimal handling reduces security and privacy risks.

There is one hour-long, online test for each of the three Knowledge Areas. The Plan Knowledge Area contains 45 questions, while the Build and Operate Areas have 40 questions each. The pass mark is 75%.

In addition to the three EUCIP certification tests, the ICS Skills ATS provides a full suite of diagnostic tests. These can be used for pre-training and pre-testing assessments to help identify individual knowledge gaps and training needs.

Information Sheet

Click the link below to view or download an Information Sheet for EUCIP from ICS Skills in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

EUCIP Brochure

EUCIP and the DCU Post-Graduate Diploma in IT

EUCIP is accepted by Dublin City University for admission onto their Graduate Diploma in Information Technology. This full-time and part-time (evening) programme is available to superior EUCIP graduates who have at least three years ICT experience. The DCU Graduate Diploma in Information Technology provides students with the personal and professional skills most sought after in the Information Economy including:

  • Develop advanced web technologies & scripting languages such as XHTML, CSS and JavaScript.
  • Design and create databases, including storage issues and tables.
  • Understand networking technologies & internet security.
  • Explore eCommerce principles and technologies.
  • Write, design and execute programs in Java including understanding algorithms.
  • Analyse information systems in terms of their components.


Quick Find

EUCIP Centres

ICS Skills is currently in the process of accrediting EUCIP learning providers in Ireland who will test their own candidates. They range from third level colleges and independent training companies to on-site training departments in organisations.

Apply here to offer EUCIP at your organisation.